David J. Adams, PhD, UNSW

2015- Illawarra Health & Medical Research Institute University of Wollongong, Australia 
Membrane physiology, Ion channels, Receptor pharmacology, Conotoxins
"David J. Adams"

Awarded BSc (Hons I) in 1974 and PhD in Physiology from University of NSW in 1979 followed by postdoctoral training at the Univ. of Washington, Seattle (MDA Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1978-1980), MBL, Woods Hole (Grass Fellowship in Neurophysiology, 1980) and University College London (Beit Memorial Fellowship, 1981-1983).
Appointed Assistant Professor at the University of Miami School of Medicine, Miami, FL USA in 1984, promoted to Associate Professor (tenured) in 1989 and to Professor in 1993 before returning to Australia in 1995 to take up the Chair of Physiology at the Univ. of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD.
Head of the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology (1998-2000), Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences (2000-2007), and Director of the Neuroscience Program (2008-2009).
Director, Health Innovations Research Institute, RMIT University, Melbourne, VIC (July 2009-December 2015).
(Show more)

Mean distance: 13.89 (cluster 31)


Sign in to add mentor
Peter William Gage grad student 1974-1978 University of New South Wales, Australia
Bertil Hille post-doc 1978-1980 UW Medical School
David Colquhoun post-doc 1981-1983 UCL
Geoffrey Burnstock research scientist 1984-1984 UCL


Sign in to add trainee
Lynne A. Fieber grad student 1986-1989 University of Miami School of Medicine
Zi-Jian Xu grad student 1988-1991 University of Miami School of Medicine
Javier Cuevas grad student 1992-1995 University of Miami School of Medicine
Glen Van Slooten grad student 1992-1995 University of Miami School of Medicine
Ian A. Sharpe grad student 1998-2001 University of Queensland
Dong-Mei Liu grad student 1999-2002 University of Queensland
Takahiro Yasuda grad student 2001-2004 University of Queensland
Jenny Ekberg grad student 2002-2005 University of Queensland
Mark Stafford grad student 2004-2007 University of Queensland
Friderike Schuetz grad student 2005-2008 University of Queensland
Thuan Huynh grad student 2010-2013 University of Queensland
Shiva N. Kompella grad student 2010-2013 RMIT University
Hitesh Kulhari grad student 2013-2016 RMIT University
Han-Shen Tae post-doc 2015- University of Wollongong, Australia
Rocio Finol-Urdaneta post-doc 2016- University of Wollongong, Australia
Karen Luna-Ramirez post-doc 2016- University of Wollongong, Australia
Jeffery R McArthur post-doc 2016- University of Wollongong, Australia
Arsalan Yousuf post-doc 2019- University of Wollongong, Australia
Thomas W. Lategan post-doc 1986-1987 University of Miami School of Medicine
Joeseph Barakeh post-doc 1988-1988 University of Miami School of Medicine
Guy R. Seabrook post-doc 1987-1989 University of Miami School of Medicine
Julius Rusko post-doc 1990-1993 University of Miami School of Medicine
Rachel E. Laskey post-doc 1992-1993 University of Miami School of Medicine
Gerhard Jeglitsch post-doc 1992-1994 University of Miami School of Medicine
Thomas J. Nutter post-doc 1990-1995 University of Miami School of Medicine
Javier Cuevas post-doc 1995-1996 University of Queensland
Christopher Katnik post-doc 1993-1998 University of Miami School of Medicine/ University of Queensland
Michael J. Watson post-doc 1997-1998 University of Queensland
Tudor Luchian post-doc 1998-1999 University of Queensland
Ronald C. Hogg post-doc 1997-2001 University of Queensland
Amanda B. Smith post-doc 1997-2001 University of Queensland
Jorgen Mould post-doc 2000-2001 University of Queensland
Kathryn A. Whyte post-doc 2002-2002 University of Queensland
Annette Nicke post-doc 2001-2003 University of Queensland
Anna Kloda post-doc 2002-2005 University of Queensland
Harald Fischer post-doc 2003-2005 University of Queensland
Alison Haythornthwaite post-doc 2005-2006 University of Queensland
Leonid Motin post-doc 2002-2008 University of Queensland
Simon T. Nevin post-doc 2004-2009 University of Queensland
Brid Callaghan post-doc 2006-2010 University of Queensland/ RMIT University (Anatomy Tree)
Takahiro Yasuda post-doc 2005-2011 University of Queensland/ RMIT University
Anton A. Grishin post-doc 2006-2011 University of Queensland/ RMIT University
Oliver Knapp post-doc 2009-2012 RMIT University
Géza Bereki post-doc 2007-2015 University of Queensland/ RMIT University
Hartmut Cuny post-doc 2009-2015 RMIT University
Peter Bartels post-doc 2013-2015 RMIT Australia
Mahsa Sadeghi post-doc 2015-2018 University of Wollongong, Australia
Justin Bourke post-doc 2020-2020 University of Wollongong, Australia
BETA: Related publications


You can help our author matching system! If you notice any publications incorrectly attributed to this author, please sign in and mark matches as correct or incorrect.

Hulme AJ, McArthur JR, Maksour S, et al. (2020) Molecular and Functional Characterization of Neurogenin-2 Induced Human Sensory Neurons. Frontiers in Cellular Neuroscience. 14: 600895
Nevin ST, Lawrence N, Nicke A, et al. (2020) Functional Modulation of the Human Voltage-Gated Sodium Channel Na1.8 by Auxiliary β Subunits. Channels (Austin, Tex.)
Li X, Tae HS, Chu Y, et al. (2020) Medicinal chemistry, pharmacology, and therapeutic potential of α-conotoxins antagonizing the α9α10 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor. Pharmacology & Therapeutics. 107792
Arias HR, Ghelardini C, Lucarini E, et al. (2020) ()-3-Furan-2-yl---tolyl-acrylamide and its Derivative DM489 Decrease Neuropathic Pain in Mice Predominantly by α7 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor Potentiation. Acs Chemical Neuroscience
Ritter P, Bye LJ, Finol-Urdaneta RK, et al. (2020) A method for high-content functional imaging of intracellular calcium responses in gelatin-immobilized non-adherent cells. Experimental Cell Research. 112210
Pooja D, Srinivasa Reddy T, Kulhari H, et al. (2020) N-acetyl-D-glucosamine-conjugated PAMAM Dendrimers as Dual Receptor-Targeting Nanocarriers for Anticancer Drug Delivery. European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics : Official Journal of Arbeitsgemeinschaft Fur Pharmazeutische Verfahrenstechnik E.V
Xu Q, Tae HS, Wang Z, et al. (2020) Rational Design of α-Conotoxin RegIIA Analogues Specifically Inhibiting the Human α3β2 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor through Computational Scanning. Acs Chemical Neuroscience
Wen J, Adams DJ, Hung A. (2020) Interactions of the α3β2 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor Interfaces with α-Conotoxin LsIA and its Carboxylated C-terminus Analogue: Molecular Dynamics Simulations. Marine Drugs. 18
Arias HR, Tae HS, Micheli L, et al. (2020) Coronaridine congeners decrease neuropathic pain in mice and inhibit α9α10 nicotinic acetylcholine receptors and Ca2.2 channels. Neuropharmacology. 108194
Muttenthaler M, Nevin ST, Inserra M, et al. (2020) On-resin strategy to label α-conotoxins: Cy5-RgIA, a potent α9α10 nicotinic acetylcholine receptor imaging probe. Australian Journal of Chemistry. 73: 327-333
See more...